Still alive – still curious


Curiosity kills the cat – or in my case makes it move in a country where I’ve never been before for studying without even speaking the language (I can name a window, tell you that it is big, how my name is and ask how you feel- but wouldn’t have any clue what you would answer me…)…
Somehow I was weirded out by Riga and Latvia when travelling into the town from the airport (It looks kinda torn down in some areas and i was like ‘oh my gosh- really?’) but: The city is beautiful! It truly is. I may spend ages here, playing with the wonderful facades, the glorious architecture, the little streets… It is so amazing…
Which brings me to that picture, taken in Düsseldorf of my dearie in an old and wrecked paper factory…
It resembles me quite a lot- dancing around, being playful, amazed, stunned… Everyone is so friendly, the food is delicious and really really cheap- a full meal (meaning something with chicken and side dishes and a softdrink) for 6€ is somehow the standart around here… A kilogram of kiwis for 1€ (in germany it would be around 3€ or 4€ I don’t even know… Maybe a single one is 1€)…
Conclusion: I am enchanted, amazed, sometimes speechless, freezing and tired to the extreme… I love it. If this opinion lasts riga might truly be home to me, even more than Berlin or London, even though I might never get used to that language (and as a German I am used to many weird kinds of words, sounds and grammar… But this…)

Stay tuned for some scheduled posts during this week- next one tomorrow (hopefully)…

Cheers, Mary!

_DSC1394.JPG

8 thoughts on “Still alive – still curious

  1. Die osteuropäischen Länder werden als Reiseziel meiner Meinung nach eh vernachlässigt. Budapest, zum Beispiel, ist einfach eine wundervolle Stadt! Keine Ahnung, warum es uns alle in den Westen zieht.
    Ich hoffe du lebst dich gut ein und lässt oft genug was von dir hören. Viel Spaß!

    Liebste Grüße, Riklinde

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nach Budapest oder Prag wollte ich schon lange mal 😉
      Aber Russland- egal wie schön Moskau ist- wäre für mich irgendwie nie ein Reiseziel…
      Vielleicht ist das noch so ein bischen das Problem: Für 70% der Welt ist das hier im Osten immernoch irgendwie Russland 😉

      Like

      • Budapest und Prag stehen bei mir auch definitiv (nochmal) an. 🙂
        Da könntest du allerdings recht haben. Russland wäre auch kein Place to be für mich und vielleicht fällt da alles andere “in der Ecke” auch noch drunter. Steckt wahrscheinlich so in den Köpfen drin. Ich freue mich aber schon sehr auf deine Fotos und vielleicht überzeugst du mich ja dann von Riga. 🙂

        Like

Thinking about something?

