At the market…


_DSC5159_Fotor_Fotor

There is a whole bunch of (street) markets to visit, while you enjoy your time in London, we chose to visit a few- like the spitalfields traders market, because we had not that much time but wanted to experience all this…

I was at the greenwich market last year and have to say, that you can get mainly the same stuff everywhere… Some photography of fancy tourist spots, some 5€ t shirts or tank tops, a bit of fake jewelry… Of course there are special places… Camden market is wonderful, there are many spots selling ‘real’ art – paintings, printings original jewelry… Just enjoy your time- and the crappy tourist stuff is sometimes worth a look as well- just compare the prices of the usual t shirts and stuff like that- you can save a bit of money if you walk through the whole market with open eyes…

At spitalfields one lady was selling scarfs and blankets- like everywhere but the radiant colors, the smiling lady… I liked the moment and took a picture…

When I look at this picture it doesn’t feel like london. It tells a story of oriental places, of a humming atmosphere, which a strange language, foreign smells of spices you barely ever heared of. It doesn’t tell ‘a small market in london, clean tidy, nothing special, a bit crowded but thats it…’. I think this is what I like about that picture and such places, they offer a vacation inside the vacation. You could leave me there for other, knowing that I couldn’t afford or even bring back to germany due to luggage regulations and a very small bag I’ d make my way through scares, adoring the craftsmanship, the fabrics, the colors, chatting with the shops owner…. It would be heaven and in the end I’d very likely leave with one of the most beautiful pieces of fabric around my neck, because i am one from a very long line of craftsmen and women, growing up at least partly in my grandmothers atelier, where she made bespoke dresses for beautiful women… Fabrics give me back a moment of childhood, overtime I feel satin or suede, its throwing me back to the endless afternoons in fall, with a hot chocolate, the noisy sewing machines and chatty women…

2 thoughts on “At the market…

Thinking about something?

