What this means to me


Being in Great Britain things turned out to be different. We didn’t thought about the people. We talked about driving left, standing in lines, standing on the right when using escalators, giving way to others, saying “Sorry” when you feel like it…

But we never talked about the people. One day I went to the city center with two other guys. Surely we took a map with us, I had my mobile for navigation, but in the end we were somewhere, my mobile had no internet connection and there was no idea of how the road is called, we stood in. Looking at a map a bit confused, standing in front of a bus stop a guy came closer. He was in his thirties, looking neat with his suit and tie, carrying a briefcase.

“You look like you’re lost, may I help you out?”

“For sure, thanks, we need to get to Paddington station- could you tell us where the next underground station is?”

“For sure, I’ll show you.”

He took us there, made sure we took the right train and wished us well. We told him more than one time that he needn’t take us there, telling us, where we are would have been enough thought. But he wanted to ensure we get home safe and sound.

Another man told us on the streets that we shouldn’t stay out for so long- we were way to beautiful to get hurt. he asked whether we live somewhere near because London could be dangerous after dark. There were loads of moments like this, women asking whether we needed help with the sizes, not belonging to the store we were in,  without cause they treated us like one of their own. Many tried to speak German, as they heard I am from Germany, I speak English fluently, I’ll graduate with English as first language but even thought there were no problems in communication they wanted to be friendly. “Dankeschön” is sometimes worthier than just thank you. I got seats offered during traveling by underground, someone picked up the stuff falling out of my handbag, running after me to make sure I don’t lose it.

I love the mindset the people have, they chat with you in the underground, ask whether you need help, everyone is as friendly as he’s able to. I Love it and wish we, in Germany, could be a bit more like this. It felt like home after minutes. And this means much to me.

Thinking about something?

